8" Jointer & 20" Planer OR 12" Jointer/Planer Combo - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 06-25-2011, 03:31 PM Thread Starter

View Kenika59's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via Yahoo to Kenika59 Send a message via Skype™ to Kenika59
8" Jointer & 20" Planer OR 12" Jointer/Planer Combo

What would you do?
I want to buy a Jointer & a Planer but do not know which setup would be best.
I am a beginner & will be making cabinets, baseboards, crown molding, wainscoting, a deck, furniture & home renovations. My wife & family members have plenty of projects to keep me busy :-)
I am looking at Jet but also open to suggestions.
They have a 12" Planer/Jointer Combo for 3K or a Jet 8" Jointer & 20" Planer together for $4750.
Even though it's $1750 more which is more important to have a 12" Jointer or a 20" Planer.
Thanks everyone for always helping me on here.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 06-25-2011, 03:52 PM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
If price is not a constraint then I would go for the separate pieces. I would think that an 8" jointer would suffice and I sure would like to have a 20" planer. Any way, I just do not like combo tools.

George
post #3 of 7 Old 06-25-2011, 06:29 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
or

http://www.grizzly.com/products/20-Planer/G0454
and this:
http://www.grizzly.com/products/8-x-...ile-Base/G0656 or this:
http://www.grizzly.com/products/8-Jo...terhead/G0490X
for much less. $2670.00 total. Of course you can upgrade both to spiral heads if you want. I have the above 2 Grizzly tools. I like 'em and the price was great.
BTW even if space is at a premium, the separate tools will serve you better. No change overtime/hassle including dust collection issues to change over. I also have a 13" jointer/planer combo Mini Max, so I know it's a pain to switch back and forth. Just park them side by side and the space will be minimal.