3 phase dust collector - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By epicfail48
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 05-07-2016, 08:14 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: northern illinois
Posts: 845
View mikeswoods's Photo Album My Photos
3 phase dust collector

I was just given a 2 HP dust collector--nice unit--
Cast iron housing--but it has a 3 phase motor with the impeller attached directly to the shaft.

Is it going to be a lost cause trying to save this thing?

I can get the specs later ---Mike--
mikeswoods is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 05-07-2016, 12:43 PM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 27,552
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Lol ...

Now YOU can give to someone who has 3 phase power.....


Unless you want to start converting other, larger tools to 3 phase I don't think it's worth it. :frown2:



Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeswoods View Post
I was just given a 2 HP dust collector--nice unit--
Cast iron housing--but it has a 3 phase motor with the impeller attached directly to the shaft.

Is it going to be a lost cause trying to save this thing?

I can get the specs later ---Mike--

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
woodnthings is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 05-07-2016, 01:14 PM
Sawdust Creator
 
ryan50hrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8,047
View ryan50hrl's Photo Album My Photos
Phase converters are not my forte, but is here any reason he couldn't use one of these on it? 229 is still far cheaper than a new dust collector if it's in good shape.

The tools don't make the craftsman....
ryan50hrl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 Old 05-07-2016, 03:33 PM
Senior Member
 
TomCT2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,459
View TomCT2's Photo Album My Photos
when my son started his business - out of my garage - he picked up a ton of most-excellent used equipment for a song because . . . it was 3 phase. residences don't come with 3 phase, and established businesses can / tend to be very selective about buying used equipment.

he bought a phase converter; it was a steady diet of plug-in-plug-out (i.e. one machine at a time....) but the money spend on a phase converter probably saved him 10x or 20x long term.

eventually he moved to a shop with three phase. but converters can be very useful . . .
TomCT2 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 05-07-2016, 06:36 PM
Village Idiot
 
epicfail48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Springfield MO
Posts: 4,941
View epicfail48's Photo Album My Photos
You might be able to find a replacement single phase motor with the same size shaft, but were it me I think I'd just slap a cheap VFD on it and call it a day. Plus, that was the speed would be adjustable. Does the speed on a dust collector need to be adjusted? Probably not. Still, features!
Steve Neul likes this.

I need cheaper hobby
etsy.com/shop/projectepicfail
epicfail48 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to epicfail48 For This Useful Post:
mikeswoods (05-07-2016)
post #6 of 14 Old 05-08-2016, 05:43 AM
Senior Member
 
ducbsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Virginia
Posts: 448
View ducbsa's Photo Album My Photos
I saved this 13 years ago, but I don't remember the source, so use it with caution.
Attached Images
 
ducbsa is online now  
post #7 of 14 Old 05-08-2016, 07:53 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: northern illinois
Posts: 845
View mikeswoods's Photo Album My Photos
I think I have been given a yard ornament---the cost of a phase converter or new motor will be more that the cost of a modern dust collector---

Woodnthings---do you have 3 phase? Need a small dust collector?
mikeswoods is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 05-08-2016, 08:56 AM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 27,552
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
No 3 phase here...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeswoods View Post
I think I have been given a yard ornament---the cost of a phase converter or new motor will be more that the cost of a modern dust collector---

Woodnthings---do you have 3 phase? Need a small dust collector?
You will have to find "commercial" electric service, rather than residential for 3 phase. The Jet 1100's or the HF 2 HP are very popular. Grizzly also has some. I don't think they are all that different between them. I run mine directly to the machine in use, having the shortest 4" ribbed hose I can reach it with. I leave the hose connected on the machine to save bending over and trying to hook it up. The machine has a reducer from 6" to 4" from Home Depot.

Here's how I do it:
http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/f7/du...art-1-a-20273/

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
woodnthings is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 05-08-2016, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,037
View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
I have a rotary phase converter. It works well but if I had to do it over I would go with a VFD. The rotary phase converter has a three phase motor on it and you have to turn that motor on before you use three phase. If you don't use three phase all the time like warner you end up turning the thing on and off all the time which is aggravating.

In my case I bought a stroke sander I knew was three phase but I got it cheap and had planned to replace the motor with a single phase motor. When I got the sander I discovered it had a motor on it that wasn't replaceable even in three phase so then I had to get a phase converter. Once I got set up for three phase then the power source wasn't a problem anymore so I started finding all these deals on some great old industrial machinery cheap that ran on three phase. Now I have four machines which run on three phase. Your dust collector doesn't have to be yard art, just look at it as incentive to go down the three phase road.
Steve Neul is online now  
post #10 of 14 Old 05-08-2016, 05:44 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: northern illinois
Posts: 845
View mikeswoods's Photo Album My Photos
The motor is connected to the impeller---so the motor is not replaceable on this (as a practical matter)

To bad, I need a dust collector---the new 2 horse ones are cheap enough---That is what I must get.

Any one want a 3 phase machine?
mikeswoods is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 05-09-2016, 12:42 PM
Tool Fanactic
 
WarnerConstInc.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Auburn, In
Posts: 1,899
View WarnerConstInc.'s Photo Album My Photos
You can pick up a VFD for 150 bucks to run that.
WarnerConstInc. is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 05-09-2016, 08:54 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: northern illinois
Posts: 845
View mikeswoods's Photo Album My Photos
Any links to that $150.00 converter?
I have never tried to use a 3 phase on single phase power.
mikeswoods is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 05-09-2016, 10:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 26,037
View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
For a dust collector which doesn't have a heavy work load there is a cheaper solution. You could find a cheap used three phase motor and a single phase motor and use the single phase motor to turn the three phase motor. Then hook L1 and L2 to 220v single phase to the three phase motor and then wire the dust collector to that motor. It will carry power to L3. It won't run quiet as well as an actual phase converter but it will work. A real phase converter has capacitors which start the idle motor so you wouldn't need a motor to turn it. It also has capacitors which bump up the power on L3 to about 200v. to make up for the power loss from not having a third hot line. With real three phase from the power company you would have three 110v lines to make 220 three phase.
Steve Neul is online now  
post #14 of 14 Old 05-11-2016, 08:52 AM
Tool Fanactic
 
WarnerConstInc.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Auburn, In
Posts: 1,899
View WarnerConstInc.'s Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeswoods View Post
Any links to that $150.00 converter?
I have never tried to use a 3 phase on single phase power.
Look at surpluscenter.com
WarnerConstInc. is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to WarnerConstInc. For This Useful Post:
mikeswoods (05-11-2016)
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dust Collector Isolation Booth maybedave Dust Collection 3 04-24-2016 08:31 AM
size of dc for a2o'x24 shop gmcooter Dust Collection 6 01-07-2016 04:29 PM
Small dust collector upgrade Geppetto14 Dust Collection 3 12-27-2015 09:37 AM
Dust collector problème - Need help! - pictures inside Paqu1n Dust Collection 3 11-14-2015 01:50 AM
Dust collector for fine dust only Andy45 Dust Collection 7 10-29-2015 09:06 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome