Vintage Hand Tools - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 4Likes
  • 4 Post By woodnthings

post #1 of 6 Old 04-23-2017, 07:19 PM Thread Starter

View NathanM's Photo Album My Photos
Vintage Hand Tools

Hello guys! I am a hobby woodworker, nothing too serious, and new to the forum. I love woodworking and I also love antiques. So I am thinking about smashing the two together and buying up old tools and restoring them.

I have no concerns about my ability to make an old tool look like new, but I am curious to see what tools you guys would recommend. I will probably look for most of them on eBay, but I will also be keeping my eye out locally as well. What would you recommend I look for, anything specific?

I look forward to your responses, thanks!

P.S. Yes I know that some people will tell me that an old tool is most valuable as rusty and patinaed as possible, which may be true for some super rare ones, but a tool was meant to be used, and if the condition prevents them from being used, what is the point?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 04-23-2017, 08:07 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
I got into restoring old planes about a year ago

I was buying several of the old Stanley 78's and other no. 6 and 7's. and removing the rust, sharpening the blades and painting the knob and handles. My purpose was to use them as well as have them all displayed on a shelf for storage and viewing as a collection of sorts.

Ebay is a great resource, but there is so much to know about them between the Baileys and Stanleys and sweethearts and all the others I got overwhelmed. I've got a few more to finish up and I'll be all set.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
post #3 of 6 Old 04-23-2017, 11:06 PM

View Roybrew's Photo Album My Photos
I agree with NathanM. I buy them to use.