Stanley Plane No. 6 Type 9 with a Type 11 iron? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 11-21-2013, 01:16 PM Thread Starter

View tailwagger's Photo Album My Photos
Stanley Plane No. 6 Type 9 with a Type 11 iron?

Greetings. First post. I've been collecting a sparse number hand tools for use for a few years now, but recently went full guns to collect enough to actually start making stuff (cabinetry, furniture, etc.) as a pastime. I'm a process type of guy so have been enjoying learning about new and old hand tools and how to use them.

Which brings me to my most recent purchase off eBay this morning, a Stanley No. 6, Type 9. Wish me luck that it will clean up and tune up to be a good user! (Not sure how many Stanley planes experts are here, but here goes. ...) I'm noticing by the photos that the iron is Type 11 (it has the triangular stamp Stanley info and bulbous chip breaker). Why might this be mismatched? And from a user standpoint will this iron be compatible with this plane? Is it less than ideal setup? If so, how easy is it to find a Type 9 iron and chip breaker? Also, the chip breaker is creased slightly horizontally where the lever cap rests on it. Is this a problem? Thanks!

Last edited by tailwagger; 11-21-2013 at 01:18 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 11-21-2013, 01:31 PM

View Dave Paine's Photo Album My Photos
There are more than a few folks on the forum who are well versed with the vintage Stanley planes.

If you are looking for a user, a blade which fits is what matters. Same width, same slot. Bevel may or may not be correct. Most of my restorations had really bad butchered blades due to bad sharpening.

People over the years have replaced various parts on planes. You should not be surprised. Good that they replaced with a Stanley blade.

Many "frankenplanes" out in the world.

I am not sure what you mean by bulbous chipbreaker or the chip breaker being creased. How about some pictures?