• 1 Post By GeorgeC
  • 2 Post By FrankC
  • 2 Post By John Smith_inFL
  • 1 Post By NoThankyou
  • 1 Post By NoThankyou

post #1 of 15 Old 07-11-2019, 08:05 AM Thread Starter

View BroomVikin's Photo Album My Photos
"Scary sharp" on Melamine?

So I'm very new to woodworking and consequently even newer to sharpening. I think in starting out the simplicity and frankly the price of using the "scary sharp" sandpaper method really appeals to me. Down the road I can see some high quality stones in my future but for now I can't make the investment. Here's my question, I know that typically one would use a piece of float glass or marble to attach the sandpaper to. I don't currently have either but what I do have is a piece of 3/4" melamine. It's roughly 36" x 18" so I should have plenty of room to attach all the various grits to one side. Also with the laminate coating I figured it should be pretty impervious to any honing fluid. Are there any drawbacks to this that I'm missing? Thanks for the help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 07-11-2019, 09:01 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
It might work, OR it might warp?

Before using the Melamine, visit one of these places and ask for a scrap:
https://www.google.com/search?client...Kennesaw%2C+GA

OR here:
https://www.google.com/search?client...10.XsrmNb6QUXA

OR get an 18" marble floor tile from Home Depot, Lowes, Menards etc.:
https://www.google.com/search?client...30.aoNRalgHQbY

If the Melamine is only on one side, it will warp when exposed to water from sharpening. I would also seal the edges with thick pant or caulking. Other places to look are Habitat for Humanity for countertops, glass mirrors, windows, even an electric cooking top or large gridle.
BigJim likes this.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)