Woodworking Talk banner

Router Plane choice

4K views 10 replies 8 participants last post by  AmishElectricCo 
#1 ·
I'm just getting into woodworking. I'm currently acquiring hand tools. I was wondering what feedback I could get by asking for opinions, compare/contrast on the router plane options I'm considering. I'm considering buying a Stanley No 71 (or 71 1/2) off of ebay or ordering a Cowryman router plane from amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B077V2R7J2/ref=ox_sc_saved_title_8?smid=A2OE4BDU5TJVY6&psc=1

I've heard good things about the old stanley's but my concern is that procuring blades/parts could be troublesome. I believe I read somewhere online that the older the stanley, the heavier more robust tool it will be. Please offer insight on different generations of the 71 and 71 1/2 if you happen to know.

I do realize that Veritas has a very nice router plane but it's out of my price range.

I'm also open to suggestions.

Any feedback will be much appreciated.

thank you in advance.

-cbliss

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
The old Stanleys work very well. Buy one that include cutters, but I'm pretty sure they are readily available easy to check on that.

I looked at the plane on Amazon. Despite the ratings, with just a survey, several things bother me:

Its quite narrow in width, so concerned about flex in the cutterhead support.

No mention of what the cutter is made of I'd be suspicious its cheap steel.

IMO certainly not worth the costs. Plus I've never heard of the brand and I think I've heard of about every thing out there.

You know you can also make one quite easily? Check Paul Sellers he has a video on the "poor man's router plane".

Bottom line: IMO you can't go wrong with the Stanley.

#3 ·