Refurbing a plane. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 4Likes
  • 2 Post By Tool Agnostic
  • 2 Post By Kenbo

post #1 of 19 Old 11-05-2017, 05:44 PM Thread Starter

View UnleveledDesigns's Photo Album My Photos
Refurbing a plane.

Hey all, my old man gave me a plane he had neglected, found, handed down to him whatever the case..
I started trying to get it back up to snuff and spent a solid day to get it to where I have it now but it just doesn't get as good as I'd like. The blade still has a knick in it and on the wet stones it started to get quite old trying to remove it..
I'm pretty new to all the wet stone sharpening and this was my first attempt at it after watching tons of YouTube.. And always just been a power tool guy but as I start moving into more detail stuff as opposed to rough carpentry I'd really like to learn the proper maintenance of this stuff.
Any suggestions to speed up process.
Mostly I just let everything soak in wd40 and used a wet dry sand paper on the body at this point.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Daniel L. - Katy TX -
www.unleveleddesigns.com :New blog so check back often
Measure twice cut once, then cut again because you still have not figured out how to cut on the line.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 11-05-2017, 09:46 PM
Off-Grid Aspirant

View marianarlt's Photo Album My Photos
That looks like a block plane. Low angle plus bevel looking up, usually used for end grain.