recommendations to sharpen planes/chisels - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By sgcz75b
  • 2 Post By _Ogre
  • 1 Post By sgcz75b

post #1 of 6 Old 04-05-2019, 08:28 AM Thread Starter

View PA WOODCHUCK's Photo Album My Photos
recommendations to sharpen planes/chisels

I'm a rookie... that said need recommendations of what's needed. I inherited some old planes and chisels and would like to bring back so I can use them. Blades look good and without nicks.

thanks

Retired VW Tech, performance boats until 9/17 STROKE! Now making sawdust to keep busy!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 04-05-2019, 08:46 AM
Beware of purists

View sgcz75b's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by PA WOODCHUCK View Post
I'm a rookie... that said need recommendations of what's needed. I inherited some old planes and chisels and would like to bring back so I can use them. Blades look good and without nicks.

thanks
On Youtube you can learn more about sharpening your planes and chisel in one hour than a year on a forum.

Go to Youtube, search for Rob Cosman and Paul Sellers adding the term "sharpening chisels" to your search. These guys are masters and will show you and explain what and why they do it their way.

Sharpening tools, unfortunately, is seen as a mystical and magical procedure, most often by people who have no idea of what they're doing or why.

Study Rob and Paul's methods. They work, are proven, and will save you money from buying the "latest and greatest" jigs.

Sharpening is not difficult. It only requires knowledge of what an edge is and how best to get it.
Tool Agnostic likes this.

Remember - You're not a "real" woodworker unless you do exactly as another woodworker says you must do to be a "real" woodworker. It's called "The True Woodworker Fallacy."
post #3 of 6 Old 04-05-2019, 01:45 PM

View _Ogre's Photo Album My Photos
i never had a sharp chisel until i bought one of these simple honing guides off amazon for $15