Need help finding hand planes. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 02-04-2013, 12:53 AM Thread Starter

View lttoler's Photo Album My Photos
Need help finding hand planes.

I am pretty new to wood working. My family has much electric equipment but I have always preferred to use my hands. I work with small boards about 4-5 ft long and am interested in making small instruments and guitars.

Could anyone point me to a good place to get some hand planes and what brands I should be looking for?

Thanks very much in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 02-04-2013, 07:03 AM
ACP

View ACP's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome! This is a can of worms question for sure. To answer I think we need to know more. Where are you, what do you sharpen with, what's your budget, are you looking for new or vintage? These are a few to start. I can recommend Lie-Nielsen, Veritas, Woodriver, and vintage. (Wait...I think that is most of them). Avoid Groz, Anant, Anant Kamal, Footprint, modern Stanleys to name a few.

I personally have Woodrivers, vintage Stanley's and Veritas planes. I prefer the Veritas for the value to quality ratio. I love all my planes though.

Give us some more and you'll get a wealth of knowledge from the folks here. Again, welcome!
post #3 of 8 Old 02-04-2013, 07:52 AM

View timetestedtools's Photo Album My Photos
I started restoring hand planes a few years ago as a way to find a reason not to hate antiquing when my wife would drag me. I found I enjoyed finding and restoring them I just kept doing it. Sooner or later I had so many I didn't have a place for them. http://timetestedtools.wordpress.com/tools-for-sale/