4Likes
  • 1 Post By BigJim
  • 2 Post By GeorgeC
  • 1 Post By Tool Agnostic

post #1 of 17 Old 10-16-2017, 10:56 PM Thread Starter

View Hipolito's Photo Album My Photos
Japanese Woodworking tools

Hello Everyone,
I have a question for you experienced guys. I am a beginner in woodworking and slowly building my tool collection. Currently I am in Japan for work and will be here for a short time. If you had a chance to get woodworking tools in Japan what if any would you get? I would like to get a set that I can use but also have to display. I am also looking for info on Japanese Water Stones. I would like to take home a nice set. What types do you recommend. Any ideas would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Hipolito
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 10-17-2017, 12:25 AM
Generic Weeb

View WeebyWoodWorker's Photo Album My Photos
DID SOMEONE SAY JAPAN!?!?

In all seriousness though personally I would seek out a nice handmade Japanese plane. Those things are wonderfully made. Either that or a traditional wood carving set.
I've never really used water stones before but I have heard great things about them. Happy shopping mate!
post #3 of 17 Old 10-17-2017, 01:13 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
I was in Japan on business also ....