Infuriating plane problem - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 08-31-2015, 01:09 PM Thread Starter

View GISer3546's Photo Album My Photos
Infuriating plane problem

My shop is without a table saw or a jointer, so all my rips are done on my Laguna 14 12 followed with a few strokes from a hand plane. I have been using hand planes for a few years now with little issues. I have a Pre-WWII stanley Baily #3, and #7. Along with a Wood River #5, and a Shelton that looks to be close to a Stanley #4.

A few weeks ago I offered to make a end grain cutting board for a friend in exchange for some light electrical work in my house. I have never made an end grain cutting board before but logic seems to indicate that all the edges of my starting stock need to be perfectly square. Of course I always check my stock for squareness but I'm working with much tighter tolerances this time around and its just not working. For some reason once my edges start getting square to the board face they start going "twisted". I'm not sure twisted would be the correct term so maybe this will explain what I'm getting.

Infuriating plane problem-planeproblem.jpg

I had this problem initially so I invested in a pile of sandpaper, which is ironic since I try to use planes due to my hatred of sand paper, and a 19" x 2" x 6" granite surfacing plate. I started by flattening my #7 which seemed to have a "twist" pattern similar to what my board edges were doing. Once that was done I assume my problem was fixed but when I got back to it with a different plane (new WoodRiver #5) and got the same results.