Hand Tool Buying Advice - Eggbeater Drill + Drill Press - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 3 Old 05-15-2015, 10:27 AM Thread Starter

View Stevebo's Photo Album My Photos
Hand Tool Buying Advice - Eggbeater Drill + Drill Press

Apologies for the probably stupid questions - I'm fairly new to both woodworking and hand tools. I am looking to get a hand drill, but have very little idea what to look for.

1. From reading up on this it seems the Stanley 624 and Miller Falls #2 and #5 are well regarded - are these the best bets or would any (working) Stanley or Miller Falls be a decent tool? Or should I stick to pre-WW2 stuff like with Stanley hand planes?

2. What red-flags should I look for? I'm mainly concerned about function - I don't mind much about paint condition or the like.

3. With the three jaw drill grip - I can use modern drill bits in that too, right?

4. Drill Press - From looking at a Miller Falls #22 drill press - it looks like the drill is a regular hand drill that fastens to the hole where the hand grip in the middle goes - is that right? If so, are hand presses brand/model specific or could I use any eggbeater drill in any drill press (I'm assuming the press comes without a drill).

5. Any things to be wary of with a hand drill press?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 05-15-2015, 11:02 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
I have a few hand drills...

My issue with hand drills is that they want to rotate when the drilling gets tough. Some have a "D" handle other just the round one with the removable end cap, but in either case it's hard to manage both the hand crank and hold on.

Two of mine are 2 speed drills with a gear in the hand crank axle for greater torque in larger holes:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-Mill...item235015759f

Your drill press my be the answer:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Antique-Mill...item27ff67c496