Hand Saws - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 02-07-2015, 09:09 PM Thread Starter

View Anguspapa's Photo Album My Photos
Hand Saws

Working in construction, being an electrician, I believe in quality tools at a reasonable price. To ad my woodworking tools, for pleasure purposes, I would like to buy a hand cross cut saw and a hand ripsaw. Woodworking is purely a hobby for me. Are there any suggestions out there for the brand and the sizes? Thanks

Eric
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 02-07-2015, 11:02 PM

View BZawat's Photo Album My Photos
Unless you're OK with dropping a couple hundred bucks each there aren't really any reasonably priced high-quality hand saws out there.

The ones you can buy in the big box stores are generally junk steel with over-set, induction hardened teeth that can't be resharpened, and big clunky uncomfortable handles. I personally wouldn't waste my time or cash on those.

I restore, sharpen & tune vintage handsaws, all by hand in my spare time. I used to sell them on eBay, but the fees they charge to sell are so damn high it just wasn't worth it to me to continue to do so.

I'm sharpening and tuning up a tenon saw for another forum member this weekend. I have a good size pile of vintage saws I've picked up along the way that are waiting to be restored, and Im sure I have something that will meet your needs. Shoot me a PM if you're interested in talking about it further.
post #3 of 6 Old 02-07-2015, 11:41 PM
Wood Snob

View Al B Thayer's Photo Album My Photos
To the OP. Bzz is probably right. But I don't like western saws since I picked up a Japanese saw. That was 28 years ago and just like the way they pull instead of push. They are also shorter and not too hard to learn to use.

Al

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 Old 02-08-2015, 05:47 AM

View mengtian's Photo Album My Photos