• 1 Post By hawkeye10
  • 1 Post By sunnybob
  • 2 Post By gmercer_48083
  • 1 Post By AmishElectricCo
  • 1 Post By gmercer_48083

post #1 of 12 Old 05-27-2018, 11:09 PM Thread Starter

View AmishElectricCo's Photo Album My Photos
Question Hand plane woes

I've been using a hand plane for a few months now (WoodRiver #5) and I keep running into the same two problems:

#1 I store my plane in a cabinet with the blade retracted. I'm not sure what the "norm" is, but that's how I do it. When I'm ready to plane, I turn the knob with my finger while making a few passes until the blade starts to make contact. It seems that right when I'm about to touch the wood, the knob gets tight. It's like...right when I need some fine tune adjustment, it starts binding up. Just going on assumption here, but I'm guessing I need to back off the lever cap screw half a turn or so?

#2 I can't plane a surface level to save my life. It's always low on the right side. Then I have to go back and rework half the surface to make it level. My blade is fine - I'm guessing that this is some kind of technique error on my part. Am I pushing too hard and not letting the plane do the work? Any help here would be greatly appreciated.

⚡ Anthony
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 05-27-2018, 11:36 PM

View hawkeye10's Photo Album My Photos
I have the same plane you do and some of the same problems. It's not all that easy to learn how to do things in woodworking. You can watch You-Tube but they don't tell you all the story. I have two block planes that I bought on Ebay and reworked and do a little better with them but I still have problems. Maybe we have to keep trying till we pick it up.
AmishElectricCo likes this.

Don in Murfreesboro, TN.
post #3 of 12 Old 05-28-2018, 12:26 AM

View sunnybob's Photo Album My Photos