Flattening wood slabs with router - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 22Likes

post #1 of 38 Old 01-13-2019, 06:19 PM Thread Starter

View Outonalimb's Photo Album My Photos
Flattening wood slabs with router

I'm pretty new to woodworking. For work I fall trees but when snow comes I have alot of down time so I am trying out some live edge pieces. Being inexperienced, I have been doing things the hardest way possible.....🙄 but found some videos on flattening slabs with a router. Can anyone tell me if a plunge router is a must or can you use a regular trim router? I have only seen it done with a plunge but is it possible with out?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 38 Old 01-13-2019, 07:18 PM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome aboard. The problem with a trim router is going to be power. You could make it work, but you will have to use a smaller bit because of the less power in a trim router. Therefore taking longer to do the job.

You could make your jig so that the router starts off the side surface of the slab. That way you would not need the plunge function.

George
gmercer_48083 likes this.
post #3 of 38 Old 01-13-2019, 07:37 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
What he said ^

Invest in a plunge router at least 2.25 HP. A larger router than that will be heavy as a hand held, but very good for under the table mounting. Just one router is never enough, I know, I have about 10 of them. Trim routers are great, but not for this where you might spin a 2" diameter bit. Smaller than that will take forever and increase the amount of sanding afterward. You Tube is full of videos on Planing with a router sled.

This one needs a flat bench:

This one uses a frame on the floor:

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)

Last edited by woodnthings; 01-13-2019 at 10:21 PM.