First hand plane - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 04-11-2012, 03:04 PM Thread Starter

View jdamin's Photo Album My Photos
First hand plane

Hello everyone,

I'm looking to "get into" woodworking and am trying to build up a collection of tools. Searching for a first hand plane has been a little intimidating. It was recommended to me that I buy an older Stanley low angle block plane, and I've been looking on eBay for one. I'm just curious whether there is anything I should be looking out for or avoiding in my search on eBay. (Again, I am totally new at this so I would appreciate simplistic answers if possible).

Would something like this be a good first purchase...
http://www.ebay.com/itm/VINTAGE-OLD-...item3cc48ef6f4

or...
http://www.ebay.com/itm/160778274800...84.m1438.l2648

Thanks for any advice!

Last edited by jdamin; 04-11-2012 at 03:35 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 04-11-2012, 03:22 PM

View Evilfrog's Photo Album My Photos
I don't like the crack right behind the mouth. I'd keep looking.
post #3 of 9 Old 04-11-2012, 04:36 PM
Hungry like a Hippo

View cellophane's Photo Album My Photos
The second one doesn't look too bad but for a few dollars more you can buy a brand new one. The new ones will take some tuning but they are pretty well made compared to some of the junk that's out there. Vintage is usually the way to go however unless you get into the Lie Nielsen and Veritas level of planes.

What kind of budget do you have? Planes can range from a few dollars to a few thousand dollars depending on what you buy - this goes for new and used planes. A low-angle block is a good starting point as is a Stanley #5 or its equivalents.