Black and Decker 24v drill - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 12-31-2008, 12:22 AM Thread Starter

View Shanomac21's Photo Album My Photos
Question Black and Decker 24v drill

I just picked this drill up for fifty dollars along with about 60 bits, has anybody heard anything about it?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 12-31-2008, 07:44 AM

View Just Bill's Photo Album My Photos
As a pro, I would never consider anything from B&D, and I don't even like the weight of the 18V drills. They wear you down fast if it is a long job. I will have to admit the price is good, if it lasts.
post #3 of 11 Old 12-31-2008, 08:42 AM

View firehawkmph's Photo Album My Photos
Shano,
Guess it depends on how much you are going to use it. Should be ok for the price. Home Depot had dewalt 18v drills on sale the day after thanksgiving for 99.00. Drill, two batteries and a charger in a nice plastic case. Good deal for dewalt. I bought two just for the batteries.
Mike Hawkins
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 Old 12-31-2008, 09:34 AM Thread Starter

Thank you, I don't think I will be using it a whole lot, so I think it is worth the price.
post #5 of 11 Old 12-31-2008, 07:48 PM

View Just Bill's Photo Album My Photos
My friend got a Craftsman 19V drill for a birthday a couple of years ago. Very little usage in real time, both batts are dead. Drill is fine, but usually the batts cost almost as much as a new drill set.
post #6 of 11 Old 12-31-2008, 08:05 PM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Just Bill View Post
My friend got a Craftsman 19V drill for a birthday a couple of years ago. Very little usage in real time, both batts are dead. Drill is fine, but usually the batts cost almost as much as a new drill set.

They have got cheaper. My Craftsman batteries are 4 or 5 years old and still going strong. A secret is to drain them completely before recharging.

G
post #7 of 11 Old 12-31-2008, 09:00 PM Thread Starter