#80 scraper - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 19 Old 09-05-2013, 10:42 PM Thread Starter
Wood Snob

View Al B Thayer's Photo Album My Photos
#80 scraper

I've been using a #80 cabinet scraper for many years. I've experienced better performance over the years mostly due to better sharpening skills and blade set up.

Then I read the latest Fine Woodworking issue and it would seem all these years I've been missing a few details. Has anyone read the article and what did you think?

For me I never considered the thumb screw to be a way to adjust the depth of cut.

Also the way the author burnishes the edge.

What do you guys think?

Al

Friends don't let friends use stamped metal tools sold at clothing stores.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 09-06-2013, 07:51 AM

View Joeb41's Photo Album My Photos
I can't comment on his burnishing technique without seeing the article, but the thumbscrew is the way to adjust the depth of the cut.

Joe B. 41
post #3 of 19 Old 09-06-2013, 08:26 AM

View Gilgaron's Photo Album My Photos
I have the Veritas version of the #80, and so I learned from the instructions that came with it. I don't get Fine Woodworking, either. Did they have advice that differed substaintially from Lee Valley?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 19 Old 09-06-2013, 10:38 AM Thread Starter
Wood Snob

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeb41
I can't comment on his burnishing technique without seeing the article, but the thumbscrew is the way to adjust the depth of the cut.
This guy said in the article to make several passes with the burnishing tool starting out close to 45deg. and then finishing at 90deg. Then he uses a pointed burnishing tool to lift the edge. Placing the blade flat on the bench and then run the point under the burr from one end to the other. I had never seen this before.

Al

post #5 of 19 Old 09-06-2013, 10:39 AM Thread Starter
Wood Snob

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilgaron