#80 Cabinet Scraper Setup? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 3Likes
  • 2 Post By gmercer_48083
  • 1 Post By gmercer_48083

post #1 of 4 Old 04-03-2019, 09:28 AM Thread Starter

View AmishElectricCo's Photo Album My Photos
Question #80 Cabinet Scraper Setup?

I added a Veritas cabinet scraper to my arsenal. Out of the box, it performed decent - but produced sawdust rather than wispy thin shavings. No problem, they all need some blade honing, right?

I went to work on my diamond stones and flattened the back of the blade. Course/fine/extra-fine, then a final polish on the leather strop. Next, I fine tuned the bevel - same process. Finally, I used a burnishing tool and created a burr. Now my scraper performs worse than it did out of the box. It's producing nice shavings, but the surface is left a bit rough rather than glass smooth.

This is my first time attempting this, so this is just SWAG (Scientific Wild-Ass Guess), but I think I have too much of a burr. It's difficult to describe, but the burr feels like it's too thick? Maybe I rounded over the edge of the bevel too far?

Looking for some guidance here.

⚡ Anthony
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 04-03-2019, 10:09 AM

View gmercer_48083's Photo Album My Photos
Anthony, In this video He sharpens, but does not burnish. There is a good chance you turned the burr too far. I would try to change the edge with the burnisher by only very little...starting parallel with the bevel...then add a tilt while burnishing of about 5 degrees. I have a Union no 60, and found it only takes about 5 to 8 strokes with the burnisher to do this.
BigJim and AmishElectricCo like this.

Gary
post #3 of 4 Old 04-03-2019, 11:29 AM Thread Starter

View AmishElectricCo's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmercer_48083 View Post
...it only takes about 5 to 8 strokes with the burnisher to do this.