#5 Stanley Sweetheart - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 12-27-2011, 09:23 PM Thread Starter

View JDFisher's Photo Album My Photos
#5 Stanley Sweetheart

Hey all,

I'm a noob in woodworking, been doing it about a year or so. Anyways I got a #5 Stanley as a gift and I watched a few vids on getting it set up. I thought I did everything right but for some reason it is still cutting off. Any tips? My guess is it might be my technique, I dunno, I'm trying to keep motion level. Any hints, tips or suggestions welcome.
Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 12-27-2011, 09:35 PM
I run with chisels.

View joesbucketorust's Photo Album My Photos
Assuming you honed the blade and are using the correct technique, you'll have to be more specific with the issue to properly diagnose the problem.

What exactly is it doing, or not doing? Shaving thicker on one side than the other - cutter not parallel to bed. Chatters? cutter out too far and lever cap not tight enough. Cuts a bit and then clogs? chip-breaker incorrectly installed, Very hard to push, not sharp and/or out too far - and the possibilities are endless. A pic of the shavings produced can give clues too, if that's possible.

Insert witty signature line here.
post #3 of 6 Old 12-27-2011, 10:38 PM Thread Starter