$200 hammer - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 16 Old 06-29-2014, 12:52 AM Thread Starter
Since 1994

View Nick Ferry's Photo Album My Photos
$200 hammer

First I would like to say that I am NOT a professional framer. If there are any professional framers on here I would like to hear from you. Or anyone else for that matter.
Name:  photo.jpg
Views: 383
Size:  53.8 KB
I was in Home Depot today and was talking with one of their employees and the conversation turned to, "do you want to see a $200 hammer?" I thought he was kidding or he was going to show me something air powered, I was wrong. Granted this hammer is made from titanium and looked to be well built, I found it hard to justify the price.

Related note: I am not a woodworker full time but I do make things from time to time that have gotten me paid. Certain tools that I may make money from, I try and find the best quality I can afford. I thought maybe that is the case for this particular tool.

My question, worth it or not? For me, I don't earn a living from a hammer, but if you do, would it be worth it to you?

P.S. If any of you want to buy this hammer and send it to me, I will do a complete review, jk.

Can I build that? There's only one way to find out.

My Woodworking Videos
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 06-29-2014, 01:39 AM

View rubberduck's Photo Album My Photos
The majority of stuff now adays can be nailed with a paslode or airgun.
The only job I've come across where I've had to do alot of hand nailing was putting cut nails in oak flooring - they wanted to see the nails. After about the 4th day my wrist was killing,the only way I finished the job was by strapping up my wrist and taking pain killers. If I did alot of floors this way I'd have to consider a different hammer, luckily I dont then, if I had money to burn. .......

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
post #3 of 16 Old 06-29-2014, 02:23 AM
johnep

View johnep's Photo Album My Photos