Woodworking Talk banner

Verly Large L Shaped computer desk help.

19K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  cheisler8504 
#1 · (Edited)
How is it going everyone? This is my first time to this forum, and I'm wanting to start off with something BIG. Something useful. Besides, I learn best when I jump into something head first. I've done ALOT of homework, but I do need help with my plan. And the other problem I have run into is trying to find some plywood that's 6'x9' localy. I'll use 3x8 or 4x8 sheets If I have to and if I do, how would I make it look seamless or is that a too much to ask? I would like to use birch.

The help I'm looking for is "How would you do this?" like what type of joints would you use, trimming, ect ect. Also, if anyone here uses sketch-up, and wants too look at the design, then please don't hesitate to ask. I'll send you a file with both complete and with all the pieces apart so that you an see what I'm doing wrong. I'm not too sure how strong this is, and If i can get by in different places with thinner panels to make it lighter. It's would be nice I can make this disassemble so It can be moved out of the room.

Here are a picture of my design. I used Google sketch up. The big gap on the long side of the desk is there so that I don't cover up a window. Also, the long side is the actual length of the wall in the room this is being place in ~-2"

See less See more
#3 ·
I agree with mdlbldrmatt135, Do it in sections then it will be easier to take apart and move and also easier to build.

If you take a look at my pictures in the Project Showcase
at the 2 new projects. The cabinets were built as three separate pieces and once the shop owner confirms the plans the unit will have an upper set of cabinets similar to what you have in your design where the tv/computer screen is displayed.