• 1 Post By allpurpose
  • 2 Post By Toolman50
  • 1 Post By MT Stringer

post #1 of 10 Old 04-20-2017, 09:41 AM Thread Starter

View Brian Roan's Photo Album My Photos
Complete Novice In Need of Advice

[Picture included is of raw, unworked materials. And my dog.]

Hello, all.

My name is Brian and aside from Pinewood Derby cars as a kid and some random fix-it projects, I've no woodworking experience. However, when a friend had a large tree cut down I couldn't help but see a coffee table in the remnants.

I've done some research on general tips and studied other projects in a similar vein, but I wanted to grab some other opinions.

My main curiosity is about leveling the surface. The table piece is thicker on one end than the other. I can either make the legs different heights to compensate, or work the table piece to make it uniform.

Does anyone have thoughts on which is better? And if I work the table piece to uniform thickness, should I cut, plane, sand, or a combination of all three?

Thanks for indulging a newcomer. I appreciate - in advance - all your help and information.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7054_1492695699308.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	102.0 KB
ID:	290906  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 04-20-2017, 10:42 AM

View allpurpose's Photo Album My Photos
Either that log was pre-rotted or you spilt some really strong coffee on it..or your dog went crazy on it..
Anyway..are you just trying to smooth the top nice and level? Going to peel the bark away? Are you planning to make it much thinner? That's a pretty hefty coffee table there.. Saw mill perhaps?
If you plan to hand plane it you're in for a lot of work..That don't look like any kind of softwood there.. If you plan on hand planing it you may want to start off with a scrub plane and I made mine from a cheapo, off the shelf $20 plane and rounded the iron with a grinder and then honed it later. Works much better than I expected..