Restoring Antique secretary desk - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 22 Old 05-27-2012, 10:34 PM Thread Starter

View GAslim's Photo Album My Photos
Restoring Antique secretary desk

Hi,

Looking to get some advice on restoring/refinishing an old secretary desk I got aa hold of. Im totally new to this, but my girlfriend is into antiques so I got this as a project for the two of us.

I have no idea how old this is, how to to identify it. It has no markings anywhere. I dont suspect that its too old and I feel like it's american made, but again I dont know. When I searched pictures I found very few that are similar to mine, and most look more elegant. Hell, I don't even know how to tell what kind of wood it is made out of.

There isnt any major damaged anywhere. I few nicks here and there not nothing you'd notice without looking, and nothing that I feel like needs repair. It's in over great condition. Very solid, well put together, and everything functions as it should. Has key and locks work.

Guess im just looking for some advice on where to begin. Looks as if someone put a white base coat of paint on it and painted it green. Obviously I want the paint gone - obviously im looking to go with an original wood look.

pictures

Anyone?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 05-27-2012, 10:48 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos

I would guess that it's likely a reproduction, and not as old as you might think, as it has a plywood back. You should use a chemical stripper to remove the paint. I would start with a waterbase stripper, like CitraStrip. It's not as toxic as MC (methylene chloride) strippers, and can be used indoors. If that doesn't remove the finish, trying more than one application, I would then use an MC based stripper.

post #3 of 22 Old 05-28-2012, 02:30 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos