Woodworking Talk banner

Really need help please...stain and glaze maple

9K views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  Buffalo Bilious 
#1 ·
HI,
This is my first time here and I could really use some help. I had someone make me some beautiful new hard maple bathroom cabinets which I thought he was going to finish as well. He informed me he's not a finisher so I'm on my own.
What I want to achieve is a caramel stain with a mocha glaze on hard maple, both solid wood and maple plywood, to look like high end cabinets.
I've been looking on other forums but they were for professionals and they used a lot of abbreviations and didn't provide any exact product names so I don't know any more now than I did days ago.
I've done some finishing but basically I'm a novice and could use some "instructions for dummies" :)
So if there's anyone out there that could provide me with step by step instructions and the brands and names of the best products use I'd be so grateful!:icon_smile:

#2 ·
Hi Dyann,
I guess knowing what I know about getting the best finish, in the color and tone you want, I would suggest one of two things. The first would be to hire it out to a professional. The second would be to buy a couple of finishing books by either Jeff Jewitt or Bob Flexner.
If you want to do it yourself, get a fair amount of scrap that the cabinetmaker used so you are experimenting with the same wood. Try different stains, glazes and finishes to see what comes out just right. remember to write down every step you took so you can repeat it when it comes to doing the real thing.
This process may take up to a week to accomplish, so be patient.
I wish I could waive a magic wand and give you some better advice but without knowing your skill level, equipment on hand, etc, it's tough to give you a good answer to your question.
Someone else may come along and give you step by step instructions on what you need to do.
Good luck and be patient!

#3 ·