Problems with 3rd Coat of Poly - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 05-30-2013, 03:06 PM Thread Starter

View woodnoob's Photo Album My Photos
Unhappy Problems with 3rd Coat of Poly

Hey all - I'm having a issue with the 3rd coat of poly I put on last night and had a few questions. I figured I'd give a full background thus far so you know all the details. Questions and picture are at the bottom.

I have a large piece of butcher block I'm staining/finishing for use as a desk for my wife and I. This is my first time staining/finishing.

Prep
I prepared the block by sanding it with 120 and then 220 for a smooth finish. I then used the Minwax Pre-Stain Wood Conditioner, waiting 15 minutes and moved onto the stain.

Stain
I used one coat of Minwax Wood Finish (Red Chestnut), wiped off and let that dry for 24 hours.

Finish
I put on the first coat of Minwax Fast-Drying Polyurethane (satin) and let it dry for 12 hours, then lightly sanded with 220, and proceeded with the second coat of poly. I made sure to do light coats and followed my brush stroke the distance of the block. I let that dry for 12 hours as well and it looked fantastic. I figured I'd do a third coat for added durability (which I'm now regretting), so I followed the same steps as above.

When I came out this morning it did not look like the second coat. It's still quite tacky and I'm noticing "dry spots" and brush strokes.

Link to picture:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/52jxuc8sl5...4.37%20HDR.jpg

Q. Could this simply be that it's not fully dried? I live in AZ so I figured 8-12 hours would be fine, but maybe not for the final coat?

Q. Is there typically steps you take after the final coat of poly (rubbing with steel wool, mineral oil, etc.) or is it usually finished after the last coat of poly dries?

Q. Would any of the above help with the dry spots / brush strokes I'm seeing for the third coat of poly?

Q. If no to the above, what are the best next steps to take?