How do I achieve a dark gray stain...NEED EXPERT ADVICE - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 20 Old 07-03-2012, 02:37 PM Thread Starter

View Giomon's Photo Album My Photos
Unhappy How do I achieve a dark gray stain...NEED EXPERT ADVICE

I'm not a wood expert, nor a finishing expert. I started a project at home and it's veered off in a way that I do not like. I purchased two unfinished wood 3 drawer dressers, which I want to finish in a dark gray but still be able to see the grain.
My first attempt did not come out right, I used the MinWax water based stain. First applying a white stain to neutralize the yellow/redish natural color of the alder wood. Waited tow hours then started with the slate water based stain. This is where it all went wrong. I was not able to apply the stain and then pick up with a rag in a way that didn't leave blotches and unevenness. Then I tried just leaving the stain on and not picking it up, that left a lot of streaks and it covered a lot of the grain.
I could really used some step by step guidance here.
This is the color I'm trying to achieve.
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 07-03-2012, 02:45 PM

View Dave Paine's Photo Album My Photos
Do you have the right picture?

This looks like black walnut, but your message states you are looking to achieve dark grey.

Can you confirm the desired colour. A picture of the wood in its present state would also help.

Lots of discussion on this site about stains vs dyes. Possible that a dye may work better. Hard to tell without the before and desired after pictures.
post #3 of 20 Old 07-03-2012, 02:52 PM Thread Starter

Well, right now the wood is an ugly opaque gray, which I will need to stand down for sure. The image I posted was a piece of unfinished alder wood which I manipulated the color using Photoshop, to show what I'm aiming for.
post #4 of 20 Old 07-03-2012, 03:39 PM