Woodworking Talk banner

First time finishing a table, can someone walk me through it like I'm a kid?

1K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  Steve Neul 
#1 ·
My kitchen table top is unfinished and extremely susceptible to water damage. Maker's website says it's made of unfinished European white oak, whatever that means. The wood definitely has a whitish tinge/rustic finish that I love.

I'd like to finish this table top so we can feel comfortable using it on a daily basis.

I've purchased the following:
General Finishes Seal-a-cell, clear, wipe on formula
General Finishes Arm-r-seal, satin, wipe on formula
220 grit sandpaper
Rags
Mineral Spirits
Finisher's Formula Natural Beeswax polish

Are these finishes the best way to go for me? I am really concerned about preserving the existing look of the table. If I've got the right materials, can you please run through what I'm supposed to do for me?

Thank you. I've never done anything like this before.

See less See more
#3 ·
Functional looking Table, Jenny. I'll leave it to the more experienced to give you advice on finishing. I, personally, would go with polyurethane ... but it's inexpensive and just what I've always used. On that table, you'll get better answers from others on here.

Welcome to the site.

#4 ·
For a first time finisher a wipe in poky is going to be the way to go. It's simple to apply and pretty forgiving, in addition to not requiring any special gear.