Final finishing/sanding of polycrylic - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 10-20-2009, 01:22 PM Thread Starter

View gba88's Photo Album My Photos
Final finishing/sanding of polycrylic

I have a coffee table top that has given me years of grief. It's some sort of pine with at least one knot that has seeped in the past. This past week or so I stripped it completely, stained it and have finally finished it with polycrylic from minwax. I'm pretty satisfied but probably should have given it a coat or 2 less than I did. I think the last coat or 2 left me with unnecessary brush marks.

So, I've been researching when and how to do a final sanding/rubbing to get the imperfections out, but keep a near glass-like finish.

My plan as of right now (without any further info) would be to sand with 1200 only, and then wax it with maybe johnsons furniture wax, OR start with 400 and work up to 1200 or 1500, then wax. I'm no expert and only rarely work on wood projects, but for some reason this one is driving me insane and I'm trying to get it as perfect as I can.

Oh and I almost forgot....tonight at about 11:30 pm it will have been 24 hours since the last coat. How long should I wait before the final sanding? I've seen from 24 hours to 4 weeks!! I definitely want the finish to be hard enough before I start the sanding. For the record, it has 5 or 6 coats. Thanks for any help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 10-20-2009, 01:48 PM

View Julian the woodnut's Photo Album My Photos
Start with 400 and use a rubber sanding block or a cork block. Wait a few days before sanding and you should be fine. I like to go from 400 to 800, 1000, 1500, then use automotive rubbing compound and either a buffer or a soft cotton cloth and a LOT of elbow grease.
post #3 of 11 Old 10-20-2009, 02:27 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julian the woodnut View Post