Woodworking Talk banner

thinking about getting a chuck and new lathe

2K views 13 replies 8 participants last post by  NCPaladin 
#1 ·
hey all, even though my lathe is a loaner I think it would be smart to get a chuck of some sort (only have a faceplate now) to that I can start properly finishing the bases of these bowls. I dont know much about chucks and their differences/ features as the price goes up and was wondering if you all might have any thoughts.

Also considering buying a new lathe. Have done a bit of research and have come up with either the nova 1624 or the jet 14 42. My goal is to be able to turn large diameter outboard stuff without breaking the bank:) Does anybody own either of these lathes or have an opinion on which is best? thanks, happy turnin,
Bond

#2 ·
I have the Nova 1624 (for 2+ years) and have been very happy with it. I have no experience with the Jet. I paid 1200 for mine but the service center still has reconditioned ones for $800. Not sure how much long that price will last. http://novatoolsusa.com/Reconditioned-Products_c10.htm
I have Nova chucks also (4). There are chucks less expensive but jmho, if you stay with Nova, Oneway, or Vicmarc you can't go wrong. Some others brands/lines seem to get good marks in the upper end but maybe not so much on the low end.
Since you are considering a lathe also I would not get a direct threaded. With an insert type you can move to your new (larger?) lathe and only need a different insert at the worst. The site above also has their G3 and SN2 available at about $50 off.

#3 ·
I have the Jet 1642 and it is a great lathe. I've not done any outboard turning, but it will spin a heavy piece pretty easily. I have Oneway Talon chucks...work on little or big lathes, just need a different threaded insert to make them fit. I have 3, one with normal jaws, one with small jaws for delicate work and one with jumbo jaws strictly for finishing up the bottoms of bowls. Never had any problems with them.

#4 ·