HELP! Converting bench grinder to wood lathe trouble... - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 03-06-2012, 04:45 PM Thread Starter

View gusmandave's Photo Album My Photos
Question HELP! Converting bench grinder to wood lathe trouble...

Hello all. Im a newbie. Not even gonna try to hide it. Just gonna describe the problem as best i can and hope someone can help me out. So here is the issue.

I have a 3450 rpm bench grinder, which i am trying to use to power a tiny, old beat up wood lathe. I have a 2 inch pulley on the grinder, and a 6 inch pulley on the lathe, running a half inch belt, but still cant get it up to power WITH WOOD ON IT. Without wood, it works fine, and gets it going real fast. But as soon as i put even a small (1 inch diameter, 10 inches long) piece of wood on it, it bogs down and wont go anywhere. My lathe looks similar to the one in this link

http://vintagemachinery.org/photoindex/detail.aspx?id=5657
except mine is much smaller and does not have any motor or anything other than the bare necessities.

I have seen others online who have succeeded in this operation, but dont know how they did. Any ideas on how to get this to work please?? Im just getting into wood turning, and even though i have not once actually done it, i love it already and cant wait to get started. Thanks all. Dave
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 03-06-2012, 05:25 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
RPM's

2"/x = 6" / 3450
6x= 2 (3450)
x = 1150
Edit:
Yep I had the denominator and the numberator basakwards!

Problem is a lathe needs several speeds to work correctly.