Tongue and Groove for TableTop? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 07-28-2010, 11:53 AM Thread Starter

View cls33's Photo Album My Photos
Tongue and Groove for TableTop?

Hello,

I'm new to woodworking apart from a few woodshop classes 20 years ago, but I'd like to try my hand at making some simple furniture starting with a small console table.

I'm planning on making the top of my console table out 3 planks of 1x6 pine, with two more 1x6 pieces running in the opposite directions to make up the ends. I understand that it's pretty common to simply glue and clamp the planks together, however I'd like to ensure that the top remains flat without cupping and eliminate as much of the sanding phase as possible. Would it be of any benefit to use a tongue and groove router bit set to create a tongue and groove assembly for my table top boards?

If this turns out well enough, I'd like to expand into a larger kitchen table using 2x8 boards... in a project that size the glue up phase is even more difficult. I don't think a router bit set will cut wood that thick. How would I create tongue and groove in wood of that thickness?

Or am I simply looking at this all wrong. Any advice is appreciated!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 07-28-2010, 12:57 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
If your boards are straight edged (jointed) and fit well, just butted with glue and clamps is all that's necessary. Use clamps across the boards on top and bottom (alternating) to even out the clamping. For alignment, use cauls, which are straight edged boards (like 2x4's) on edge across the boards clamped down to keep them flat.

For the ends you might be referring to "breadboard ends", which are pieces attached that allow for expansion and contraction of the longitudinal boards. Basically it can be attached to the center of the table and the ends are fitted with a slotted connection.