Screw strength - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

3Likes
  • 1 Post By Steve Neul
  • 1 Post By johnep1934
  • 1 Post By MT Stringer

post #1 of 11 Old 11-28-2016, 09:47 AM Thread Starter

View beerygaz's Photo Album My Photos
Screw strength

Firstly forgive me for a multitude of sins and faux pas. I'm new to woodworking, speak in metric and new to the forum. I'm looking for some preventative advice over catastrophic consolation.

I'm making a custom cabinet for my garage out of 18mm ply. I figured it would be easier to make 3 smaller cabinets and fix them together given my limited experience and tools. So I have three vertically stacked boxes, each 6' wide by 1.5' high (give or take). I made my boxes by guessing and screwing the top and bottom panels to the side panels. This means I have "vertical" screws through top panel into the edge of the side panel (I was trying to keep the side panels free of screw holes). I intend to gel and screw the 3 boxes together bottom-to-top-bottom-to-top.

Assuming I put a French Cleat at the top, this suggests I'm dangling the entire weight of the thing on the 8 screws I put in holding the "lid" to the sides. This feels like a "bad thing".

I figured I could also add a cleat to the wall below the cabinet to add support form the bottom too, but would welcome any advice on how to hand the thing as well as whether these 6 3.5mm x 30mm screws will hold.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 11-28-2016, 09:59 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
If you glue the french cleat to the cabinet and use 8- 3" drywall screws into studs you could load the cabinet down with bricks and it would stay there. If the cabinet is only 6' long actually 4 screws would be enough. Not long ago I built a wall cabinet 8' long and 54" tall. I installed it with 4 screws at the top and 2 at the bottom.
MT Stringer likes this.
post #3 of 11 Old 11-28-2016, 10:52 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos