Plywood butt joint with screws strong enough? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 02-16-2017, 04:53 PM Thread Starter

View jpro1001's Photo Album My Photos
Plywood butt joint with screws strong enough?

Anyone know if joining plywood together at a right angle with screws would be strong enough for a shelf? I'm new to woodworking and already cut and painted my shelves. I'm starting to put them together and I'm worried it's too heavy to be safe. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Here is an image of the shelf: http://imgur.com/a/Rmbpy. Additionally, the thicker boards are just two pieces of 3/4" plywood glued together...

Last edited by jpro1001; 02-16-2017 at 05:04 PM. Reason: Added wood thickness details.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 02-16-2017, 05:13 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
If the sides didn't show there certainly wouldn't be anything wrong with putting it together with screws. I would also use wood glue. What's shown in the image the sides do show. I think you would be better off using glue and finishing nails instead of the screws.
post #3 of 10 Old 02-16-2017, 06:19 PM Thread Starter

The sides won't show, they will be up against a closet wall. I was thinking that since plywood is multiple layers of thin pieces it's not very strong if you screw into the side of it. It seems brittle. This shelf is very heavy and I don't want it to fall on my kids (or anyone). I guess I was hoping for a magical joint solution (without building it all again) or a new type of hidden brace/bracket design I haven't seen before... The wood just doesn't seem very strong. The few screws I tried putting in so far went in like butter...

post #4 of 10 Old 02-16-2017, 06:19 PM

View Toolman50's Photo Album My Photos
I agree with Steve, but I think you should still drill small pilot holes if you hand nail to avoid getting "shiners".