Finger Joints that aren't 90 degrees - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 14 Old 02-07-2011, 03:35 PM Thread Starter
Wood Mangler

View hedorah99's Photo Album My Photos
Finger Joints that aren't 90 degrees

First off, I am really new at all this. I am teaching myself slowly.

Currently I am building a little coffin shaped box for a friend. It's going to be made out of 1/4" thick oak. I am having a hell of a time figuring how to do the corners. I was thinking about using finger/box joints to join the corners. Has anyone used finger joints for a non-90 degree angle, and if so how did you do it? Or should I abandon this idea altogether and just try something more traditional?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 02-07-2011, 04:01 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by hedorah99 View Post
Or should I abandon this idea altogether and just try something more traditional?

That's what I would do.

post #3 of 14 Old 02-07-2011, 05:17 PM Thread Starter
Wood Mangler

Do you have any advice for gluing up the corners? They are 49/49 82/70 and 55/55. It's because I am working with only 1/4" thick stock that I am having problems. Or should I just try using 1/2" stock and biscuits instead?

Last edited by hedorah99; 02-07-2011 at 05:41 PM.
post #4 of 14 Old 02-07-2011, 05:43 PM
Old School

Quote:
Do you have any advice for gluing up the corners? They are 49/49 82/70 and 55/55. It's because I am working with only 1/4" thick stock that I am having problems.

You might get away with box joints. The problem you might have is fingers may show on the inside, if the angle is obtuse. Picture interlacing your fingers on both hands and then opening up your palms a bit. You can see what might happen. As for the outsides of acute angles, just make the fingers longer, and then after assembly sand them back. You may see slight openings at the base of the fingers.