Woodworking Talk banner

Black Walnut Bar

2K views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  Cowboy18 
#1 ·
Hi , I'm a newbie here. This last year I took on the challenge of rebuilding my entire home (down to the studs) after a very bad fire. I've taken my time, done a lot of research and finally got my occupancy. I've attempted a very modern industrial look. I'm now down to finish features and really want to do things right. I built concrete counter-tops, which I've always admired, and am now trying to offset the look with a nice dark wood breakfast/dinner bar overhang that faces the stove top area. A local sawyer had a beautiful 2 and 1/2 " piece of Black Walnut leftover which he sold me at a reasonable price. I'd really like to use it but A) want to make sure it doesn't crack too much with my wood stove in winter and B)would love to hear some suggestions on joining the two pieces together to give me the width I need (17") including glue or epoxy suggestions. Is it as simple as biscuits or are there some other options for longer runs of heavy wood? Here is what I can tell you.

1) I need a 96" L x 17" W finished product

2) The stock was too thick for my liking so hes ripping it down to 2 x 6/4 thick lengths . 8.5" wide each to join.
3) Moisture content varies from 8 to 12 along lengths at this moment in late July. I live in new England. Very muggy now. Hopefully this slows down drying too fast?
4) Supports will be 45 degree black re bar brackets for industrial look

He has suggested not fastening permanent yet until board is down to about a 6-8 moisture evenly. Then use jointer/method of marrying/ and finally planing.

Appreciate any general thoughts, suggestions or ideas. Attached a few pics before it was ripped down

Scott

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·