Radial Arm Saw Dust Collection - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 04-14-2013, 05:15 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
TMA Woodworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lincoln NE
Posts: 153
View TMA Woodworks's Photo Album My Photos
Radial Arm Saw Dust Collection Update

Here are some photos of my latest project. Dust collection for my RAS. Call me old school but this is my tool of choice for cross cutting. My set up was always an after-thought at best and I have tried several shop made and commercial dust ports. They all use suction at the top which never made sense to me. Basically I built a large collection box with a slanted floor and the dust collection port at the bottom. I'm not done yet as I will finish off the area below the RAS by enclosing it with a door but at least for now it back up and running.

Bob
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00150.jpg
Views:	348
Size:	66.5 KB
ID:	68333  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00151.jpg
Views:	494
Size:	84.7 KB
ID:	68334  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00152.jpg
Views:	942
Size:	94.5 KB
ID:	68335  

Attached Images
  

Last edited by TMA Woodworks; 05-19-2013 at 04:12 PM.
TMA Woodworks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-14-2013, 05:19 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
TMA Woodworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lincoln NE
Posts: 153
View TMA Woodworks's Photo Album My Photos
here are the rest of the photos
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00155.jpg
Views:	265
Size:	95.2 KB
ID:	68341  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00156.jpg
Views:	962
Size:	97.1 KB
ID:	68342  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00157.jpg
Views:	3915
Size:	89.8 KB
ID:	68343  

TMA Woodworks is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-19-2013, 04:20 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
TMA Woodworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lincoln NE
Posts: 153
View TMA Woodworks's Photo Album My Photos
I'm pretty well done and thought I would give an update. It's seems to be a success as I am capturing about 85% of the chips. My old system (basically a small box) wouldn't even do 50%. I've posted some more pictures and the last is looking down into the box. Everything tips towards the intake so it never really builds up past 1/2". All that is left is to do some trim work around the bottom as I plan to bring the sides of the cabinets to the floor with no toe kick.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00164.jpg
Views:	480
Size:	97.9 KB
ID:	71214  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00165.jpg
Views:	2073
Size:	97.4 KB
ID:	71215  

Attached Images
  
TMA Woodworks is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-19-2013, 04:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Waynesfield, OH
Posts: 1,510
View Fred Hargis's Photo Album My Photos
The design looks very functional (BTW, I'd never call you old school for using an RAS...and you have a very good one!). Do you see much bounce-back from the dust (especially at miter angles)?

"I long for the days when coke was a cola and a joint was a bad place to be" (Merle Haggard)
Fred Hargis is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-19-2013, 05:58 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
TMA Woodworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lincoln NE
Posts: 153
View TMA Woodworks's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred Hargis View Post
The design looks very functional (BTW, I'd never call you old school for using an RAS...and you have a very good one!). Do you see much bounce-back from the dust (especially at miter angles)?
Thanks, my best craigslist find. I have the back of the saw buried inside the box so bounce back is minimal. That is, it does bounce back but never make it out of the box and since the saw cantilevers into the box the chips fall to a sloped floor directed to the pipe. I haven't tried miter cuts yet but I hope that it will perform as well. I did a lot of measurements while I had my old system installed because I could see where the chips were flying and I tried to get the box in that spot
TMA Woodworks is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-27-2013, 12:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: LUBBOCK, TEXAS
Posts: 77
View MORRIS76's Photo Album My Photos
I'm building a stand for my miter saw and will be using a box like yours only smaller. Your cabinet is much nicer than mine will be. Nice old saw. I have a Dewalt MB that I'm trying to restore between other restorations. Picked it up for $25
MORRIS76 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ways to improve dust collection on a saw with zero dust collection hedorah99 Dust Collection 8 01-21-2013 04:56 PM
Dust collection ctwiggs1 General Woodworking Discussion 29 02-01-2012 11:34 PM
Dust collection Q/A...... GorillaWood Dust Collection 37 01-29-2011 12:10 PM
Dust collection tripod58 Power Tools & Machinery 6 09-30-2009 02:13 PM
Dust Collection gaviaimmer Dust Collection 10 01-08-2008 09:13 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome