Woodworking Talk banner

Do you Hate Sketchup?

Tags
sketchup
8K views 18 replies 15 participants last post by  Wakita46 
#1 · (Edited)
I have been noticing a real split between how people feel about Sketchup. It's either people love it, or they hate it. I'm trying to figure out why. It seems like there are some people that just can't get past the basic concepts of Sketchup, so they get frustrated and give up on it. What do you struggle on with Sketchup? Why do you hate it??? I'd like to help, lol.

Sketchup is such a great tool, I can't imagine not using it. Let me know what you don't understand about Sketchup and hopefully I can figure out what people are missing when they are trying to learn the program.

#4 ·
I've just started to use sketchup in the last couple of months and the more I use it the more I like it. I am not doing this for a living however, just for my own designs and personal projects.

I think a lot of the people who don't want to use sketchup are those that learned to use pencil and paper to draw what they need and carry so much info in their minds that sketchup is a waste of time. They know from experience what proportions work, what joinery to use and probably have a good vision of how the final piece will look in their minds. Personally, I am strictly a hobby woodworker who can't draw and don't have the experience to know what will work so I love any tool I can use to help me visualize the process.