Woodworking Talk banner

Reduce thickness of a wooden cylinder

2K views 17 replies 6 participants last post by  FrankC 
#1 ·
Hi guys.I am new in woodworking and i am new in this forum.I have to reduce the thickness of a cylinder only for a piece of its height.Cylinder's sizes are: 8cm height,6 cm diameter and 1 cm thickness.I have a drill press,a drill and a jigsaw.I have thought this.I do a hole in a piece of wood of the same diameter of the cylinder with the drill press and then I put the cylinder in that hole.In this way the cylinder is centered with the drill press.Then I mount a hole saw in the drill press with a diameter lower than the cylinder's diameter.In this way I can reduce the thickness of the cylinder.What do you think?Are there other methods?

#2 ·
What you have planned is as close to impossible as you can get and perhaps dangerous to use a drill press for a lathe. I think you need to acquire a lathe. You could do a lot with a cheap one and I think you would be happy to get one. It's the most fun piece of equipment in the wood shop.

#4 · (Edited)
It is dangerous, but possible

With your limited tooling, you have probably come up with a solution. The possibilities for error including slipping or grabbing are real. Using a hole saw in the end of a cylinder would require a substantial method of securing the cylinder. You are just centering the pilot hole in the end with your block, but that could also be done in other ways. Just be very cautious IF you decide to attempt this.

#8 ·
I would make up something to hold the cylinder.
Take a narrow board drill a hole for a bolt through the edge of it, cut a saw slot into where you will drill the hole for the cylinder.
Fasten this to a larger base with three screws, as shown, so you can clamp it to the drill press table.
Drill the hole for the cylinder, clamp the cylinder in the fixture by tightening the bolt.
Replace the bit with the hole saw and trim to required diameter.

Attachments

#9 ·