How to edge join MDF - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

1Likes
  • 1 Post By J_L

post #1 of 8 Old 04-20-2017, 09:16 AM Thread Starter
Master firewood maker

View Chris Curl's Photo Album My Photos
How to edge join MDF

I am starting to plan building my router planing jig (Router planing jig), and am considering using 3/4" MDF for it.

I have never worked with MDF before, so I don't know what to look for or think about when using it.

So, what is the correct way to make an "L" corner using MDF, joining the edge of one piece to the face of the other piece? Just glue? Glue and screws? Glue and brads? No glue because glue would cause the MDF To swell? Something else?

HELP!

Last edited by Chris Curl; 04-20-2017 at 10:18 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 04-20-2017, 09:59 AM

View bargoon's Photo Album My Photos
I use mdf all the time for jigs. I used to use biscuits and glue but now I just use Titebond III glue and 18ga brads. I've had no failures and the glue doesn't swell the mdf.
The Following User Says Thank You to bargoon For This Useful Post:
Chris Curl (04-20-2017)
post #3 of 8 Old 04-20-2017, 12:24 PM
J_L

View J_L's Photo Album My Photos
Most jigs I just screw together. MDF included. However, screwing into the edge of mdf can be tricky. You have to predrill before screwing otherwise it will split and separate around the screw. But predrill too much and the screw won't bite.

I typically use dewalts countersink bits with the stop collar set so the drill bit ends just shy of the screw length.
Toolman50 likes this.

post #4 of 8 Old 04-20-2017, 10:52 PM

View MT Stringer's Photo Album My Photos
Chris I pre-drilled pilot holes with a countersink bit, glued and screwed the "gantry" together. Hope this helps.
Mike
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2017-04-12 17.54.44.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	76.7 KB
ID:	291034  

The Following User Says Thank You to MT Stringer For This Useful Post:
Chris Curl (04-21-2017)