Chainsaw chain stretch ? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 19 Old 12-11-2010, 11:16 PM Thread Starter

View reprosser's Photo Album My Photos
Question Chainsaw chain stretch ?

I have a Farm Boss Stihl Chainsaw that I have been using for about 2 years. I have 2 chains that I use. It has been a few months since I used the saw, but today I put it to use. Everything seemed fine, but the chain started to get loose, and after tightening a couple of times, I found that I was maxed out and could not tighten any further. I had to stop using the saw since the chain had about a 1/4 in droop below the bar. I checked the bar and sprocket - seems fine.

I know a new chain can stretch a little, but this seems extreme for a chain that has been in use for at least a year.

What might cause this?

I was able to install my second chain and it seems OK, but I am going to have to purchase a replacement for the longer one I guess.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 12-12-2010, 12:11 AM
djg
Senior Something

View djg's Photo Album My Photos
I don't know if the time frame is unusual, but I've had mine stretch too. If the teeth are fine, I just take it in to my local chainsaw place and have them remove a link or too.
post #3 of 19 Old 12-13-2010, 10:05 AM
Old Timer

View TexasTimbers's Photo Album My Photos
Chains can stretch that much. You can take a link out of it. If you don't have the tools to do it take it to your chainsaw shop.

Quote:
Originally Posted by reprosser View Post
I have a Farm Boss Stihl Chainsaw that I have been using for about 2 years. I have 2 chains that I use. It has been a few months since I used the saw, but today I put it to use. Everything seemed fine, but the chain started to get loose, and after tightening a couple of times, I found that I was maxed out and could not tighten any further. I had to stop using the saw since the chain had about a 1/4 in droop below the bar. I checked the bar and sprocket - seems fine.