Woodworking Talk banner

Saw/Shop Vac Review

18K views 15 replies 8 participants last post by  clarionflyer 
#1 ·
This isn't so much a product review... but a usage review.

I just connected my Craftsman tablesaw to my 6.5 hp shop vac (because I'm getting tired of sweeping). This is working extremely well. I have a zero tolerance insert for most cuts (with a small hole drilled at the front of the slit). I'm getting very little saw dust in the saw or in the shop. And it's a cheap substitute for the dust collector.
My saw is 220 and the vac is 110 so I have to flick 2 switches to start (I'm sure there's a fix somewhere). But it sure beats sweeping the floor.

This is just for those out there who are thinking about it, but haven't done it yet.

I'm gonna attempt to throw in an old (previous) pic of my saw. But I'm not too good with that.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Hi Clarionflyer, read your post and thought I would add my .02 worth! I have a rigid vac hooked up to my TS and router with a small dust separator on top of a 5 gallon bucket between the tools and the vac. It seemed like a good idea at first but it filled up so fast that it became just as much work emptying as with just the vac alone. After a little head scratching :wallbash::wallbash: I decided to take another mud bucket(5 gallon) with a lid attached and cut out the bottom of the two buckets and slid one into the other and sealed the seam with a little duct tape. Now it takes twice as long to fill up and seems to extend time between vac filter cleanings even longer! Usually I smack the vac a few times to knock the dust off the filter to get just a little more run time out of it. If you go to amazon.com and do a search for "dust collection separator" you can check out a few of these which have gotten a lot cheaper since I bought one!

#3 ·
Hi Clarionflyer