Working with African Mahogany? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 15 Old 10-21-2008, 10:09 PM Thread Starter

View thekctermite's Photo Album My Photos
Working with African Mahogany?

I'm about to begin building a new king-size bed and nightstand for my wife and I. I went to my wood supplier planning to buy oak and came home with African Mahogany. (and a lighter wallet)

I've never used this wood before and have a couple questions.

First...Glueing. Can I use regular titebond? I've heard of cleaning some exotics with acetone before gluing. Is that necessary with African Mahogany? I also have some Titebond extended open-time glue that I bought for the project...There are a lot of parts that have to be glued and clamped in the same operation. Everything will be mortise and tenon joinery. I'll be laminating 6/4 stock for the legs and laminating 4/4x10 stock for the stretchers...Just want to make sure that the glue joints will be as strong as they'd be with domestic hardwoods like poplar or oak.

Second...Finishing. I'm using teak oil to bring out the rich color and make the grain pop a little. I tried it on a test piece and it looks awesome. I'm thinking of using wipe-on poly over that, as I don't want the "clear coat" look. Thoughts? Ideas? A friend suggested wax instead of poly. The can of oil says to wait 72 hours before applying poly, so I'm assuming they're compatible.

Also, is there anything that I should be concerned with when sanding this wood? Can I sand it too fine? I usually sand to 220 at least, sometimes 320. It seems to have fairly open grain and I'm worried that I'll need to sand it down considerably to get the fuzzy open grain to lay down.

Last, any toxicity issues with the dust? I have little experience with the exotics.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 10-21-2008, 10:11 PM Thread Starter