Ungluing a joint - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 12 Old 07-12-2007, 12:31 PM Thread Starter

View Abie63's Photo Album My Photos
Ungluing a joint

I have a beech Ercol dining chair on which one of the legs has broken. My problem is, how do I unglue the stretcher bars from their various attachments without damaging the joints, to enable a replacement leg to be fitted?

Let me say, that I am not a woodworker either professional or otherwise and would appreciate advice in the simplest terms.

It is probably useful to know that the chair's wood is natural finish which has been varnished.

Last edited by Abie63; 07-12-2007 at 04:18 PM. Reason: additional information
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 07-12-2007, 02:29 PM
Senior Member from MN

View Daveb's Photo Album My Photos
I am not a professional either. But I think some furniture is purposely glued with Hyde glue that releases when wet (or heat?).

I do not know how to get the joint wet without damaging the wood or how to test this theory. Any ideas out there?
post #3 of 12 Old 07-12-2007, 07:04 PM
Love makin sawdust

View MinConst's Photo Album My Photos
When I was in the furniture business a rubber mallet was the tool of choice. I have never heard of wetting a joint to loosen glue of any kind. Hyde glue is reheat-able I don't think it is water soluble. I may be wrong. Been many years since I had a glue pot. If the joint is so solid that it wont budge leave it alone. Generally a couple good blows with a mallet will open it up. BUT think about where you're hitting so as not to do more damage. And by good blow I don't mean a powerful strike just a solid hit. Also you can put pressure on the opposite side of a joint that your going to strike. This tends to help make the pressure even. Stay as close to the joint as possible. Once the glue joint is loose then tap the pieces apart. Evenly from both sides of the joint. This will help to NOT oversize the hole.