Trying to cut boards to equal length - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 34 Old 01-30-2012, 12:55 PM Thread Starter

View chironik@yahoo.com's Photo Album My Photos
Trying to cut boards to equal length

Hello, I am rather new to woodworking, and I am building a large dobsonian telescope mount. The mirror box needs to be four panels of 1/2" Appleply or similar hardwood. the dimensions of each need to be near exact at 17 and 3/4" by 15 3/4". I cut all the pieces from a board on my table saw ,pushing each one tight against the fence, but somehow, each of the boards is something like 1/8" different from the others. Now I am thinking about how I can make them equal to each other, without taking too much wood from any of them. Any suggestions appreciated. I was thinking about running them all through the table saw at the same time, and on the left side of the table, clamping a 2x4 piece of wood, sort of as a left sided fence, and squeeze all the boards together so there is no change for error.
in general, how does one get exacting cuts, with larger boards? I found information on smaller pieces of wood, but not larger. thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 Old 01-30-2012, 01:29 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos

Use only your saw fence set at the dimension, cut all the pieces for the same measurement, individually at that saw set up. When ready for the next size, set the fence and cut each piece one at a time. IOW, each size hasn't changed from one to the other (for the same dimension).

Don't try to cut pieces that are ganged up...like on top of each other.

post #3 of 34 Old 01-30-2012, 01:58 PM Thread Starter

ok, but on the second setup, how do I make sure they are all the same size? It seems like your just telling me to plop down the boards (which are different lengths, and cut the against the fence? yeah, and? How do I make sure they all end up same size?
post #4 of 34 Old 01-30-2012, 02:13 PM