Setup blocks with your router bits? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 Old 12-04-2008, 12:35 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Greensboro, North Carolina
Posts: 492
View djonesax's Photo Album My Photos
Setup blocks with your router bits?

Do you all use setup blocks with your router bits? I was debating picking some up with a panel bit set I am looking at but I usually just test on scrap until I get it matched up. I'm looking for pros and cons.

David
djonesax is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 12-04-2008, 02:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 8,898
View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
I test on scrap.

I do not even know what a setup block is.

G
GeorgeC is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 12-04-2008, 04:11 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Elkins, WV
Posts: 8
View vicnb's Photo Album My Photos
I do use them for certain bits, but I usually make my own. Once I get the bits set where I want them I will run a scrap piece of wood or a piece of UHMW plastic and save it. The next time I use the bits it makes for alot quicker set-up.
vicnb is offline  
post #4 of 26 Old 12-04-2008, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 4,793
View firehawkmph's Photo Album My Photos
Ditto on what Vic says. Get your bit adjusted to when you test is on a piece of scrap you are satisfied. Keep the scrap piece if you want for future reference. Setup pieces come in handy when you are using bit sets that must match up with each other, like a cabinet door set. Even with a setup block, I would still test it on a piece of scrap. Scraps are cheap, your project pieces aren't usually.
Mike Hawkins
firehawkmph is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 12-04-2008, 07:32 PM
red
NC Mountain Living
 
red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nebo NC Living in the beautiful foothills of NC
Posts: 1,158
View red's Photo Album My Photos
I always used a scrap and saved it. Even then I would run a scrap through first before running my "good" pieces. Red

Red
red is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 12-04-2008, 08:05 PM
top
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 65
View top's Photo Album My Photos
I test on scrap.but also save the scrap lab with a marker of another time.


THE SHOP OF TOP

Last edited by top; 12-04-2008 at 08:11 PM.
top is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 12-04-2008, 09:00 PM
HALL OF FAMER
 
Kenbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,594
View Kenbo's Photo Album My Photos
I've never saved the scrap cuts for setup, but now that I think about it, it's a great idea and I will save them in the future. Thanks for the idea guys.
Ken
Kenbo is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 12-04-2008, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Handyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Amidst of 1000 acers of crawfish ponds under a 500 year old Oak grove. SW La
Posts: 1,463
View Handyman's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via AIM to Handyman
I have never used blocks but I do us a straight edge across the router base and then set it with my eye ball.

Collector of Old Tools
Fixer of all things broke
Expert = Drip under pressure
Handyman is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 12-05-2008, 02:11 AM
Toymaker
 
RichL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19
View RichL's Photo Album My Photos
I use a set up block with my 4 round overs cut into each side. Makes set up a lot quicker. I still run a scrap piece just to make sure.

Last edited by RichL; 12-05-2008 at 02:14 AM.
RichL is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 12-06-2008, 10:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Powell River British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 2,279
View Gerry KIERNAN's Photo Album My Photos
I didn't know there was such thing as a setup block for router bits. I have always used a scrap piece to get my setting.

Gerry
Gerry KIERNAN is offline  
post #11 of 26 Old 12-06-2008, 10:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 373
View jerry's Photo Album My Photos
I have used brass set up bars for years, most woodworking stores sell them. The last ones I bought came from McMaster Carr they are 12" long in 1/8,3/16,1/4,5/16,3/8 and 1/2" much cheaper this way and they are easily cut to shorter lenghts.

Regards

Jerry
jerry is offline  
post #12 of 26 Old 12-14-2008, 12:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Coquille, OR
Posts: 42
View GerryB's Photo Album My Photos
I just bought some square key stock at the local auto parts store. It was $2.00 a foot. It works fine, just have to remember to wipe it with an oily rag once a year.

GerryB
GerryB is offline  
post #13 of 26 Old 12-14-2008, 06:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 8,898
View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by GerryB View Post
I just bought some square key stock at the local auto parts store. It was $2.00 a foot. It works fine, just have to remember to wipe it with an oily rag once a year.

GerryB
]

OK. What do you do with this stock?

G
GeorgeC is offline  
post #14 of 26 Old 12-14-2008, 05:38 PM
edp
Senior Member
 
edp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fayetteville PA
Posts: 419
View edp's Photo Album My Photos
I guess I am from the new school.

Once I get a bit set, I throw the wrench away. If another bit is required, then, obviously, another router is required as well.

Ed
edp is offline  
post #15 of 26 Old 12-14-2008, 06:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 8,898
View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by edp View Post
Once I get a bit set, I throw the wrench away. If another bit is required, then, obviously, another router is required as well.

Ed
You either do not do much routing or else you have a shop full of routers.

G
GeorgeC is offline  
post #16 of 26 Old 12-14-2008, 09:34 PM
edp
Senior Member
 
edp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fayetteville PA
Posts: 419
View edp's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeC View Post
You either do not do much routing or else you have a shop full of routers.

G
Current count is 12.

ed
edp is offline  
post #17 of 26 Old 12-15-2008, 02:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Coquille, OR
Posts: 42
View GerryB's Photo Album My Photos
George
I use it as set-up bars for the router.
GerryB is offline  
post #18 of 26 Old 12-15-2008, 06:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 8,898
View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by GerryB View Post
George
I use it as set-up bars for the router.
I am still trying to figure out what is a "set-up bar."

G
GeorgeC is offline  
post #19 of 26 Old 12-15-2008, 12:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Coquille, OR
Posts: 42
View GerryB's Photo Album My Photos
George,
Hoping this will explain.
Blessed Christmas to you & yours
GerryB
GerryB is offline  
post #20 of 26 Old 12-15-2008, 05:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 8,898
View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by GerryB View Post
George,
Hoping this will explain.
Blessed Christmas to you & yours
GerryB
???????????????

Hoping what will explain?

G
GeorgeC is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
router bits ? Snow Power Tools & Machinery 1 05-26-2008 07:55 PM
Router bits cbdeajr Tool Reviews 10 04-19-2008 11:28 AM
Router bits msajeep General Woodworking Discussion 14 01-19-2008 02:48 PM
Best Router Table Setup FarFromTheNorm Power Tools & Machinery 7 06-27-2007 09:26 PM
Router bits Mak General Woodworking Discussion 2 01-19-2007 12:30 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome