Requesting tips on joining boards for table top - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 39 Old 08-04-2007, 11:19 PM Thread Starter

View Terry McManus's Photo Album My Photos
Requesting tips on joining boards for table top

G'day. I am new to the craft and have been reading a bunch and am about to start my first project.

One of the questions that I have is the joining of boards to make a table top. I have some 3/4" red oak that I need join. I've read about simple butt joins, t&g joins, biscuit joins. But my experience with wood to date has been with nails and screws.

Can you achieve a lasting join if you have true edges and just use glue....a straight butt join? Or would you use some type of fastener?

Thanks,
Terry McManus
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 39 Old 08-05-2007, 01:18 AM

View formula462's Photo Album My Photos
yes,a simple glue up with proper clamping pressure will do fine. make sure when the top is fastened to the base you allow for movement
post #3 of 39 Old 08-05-2007, 02:50 AM
johnep

View johnep's Photo Album My Photos
joining boards

All other methods now superceded by pocket holes. all you need is the Kreg jig costing a few $.
I admitto being a fervent convert.
Have a look at the videos on the Kreg site or on utube.
johnep
post #4 of 39 Old 08-05-2007, 04:42 AM
edp

View edp's Photo Album My Photos
Table top

I also am a member of the PSLA (pocket screw lovers army) but I would hessitate using them for a table top. All those holes visible from underneath (or the outline of the plugs if you go that route) would detract from the look of the finished project in my eyes. Glue only is perfectly acceptable for long grain to long grain joints but biscuits or stopped splines sure do make the glue up much easier.

My $.02

Ed
post #5 of 39 Old 08-05-2007, 06:54 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos