Relatively new hand woodworker - books - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

1Likes
  • 1 Post By woodnthings

post #1 of 10 Old 03-15-2017, 07:15 PM Thread Starter

View Tim Tenthumbs's Photo Album My Photos
Question Relatively new hand woodworker - books

I'm thinking of buying a good general woodworking book (I'm a relative amateur). I'm trying to make a choice between Robert Wearing's "Essentials of Woodworking" and Paul Sellers' "Working Wood 1 & 2 - The Artisan Course". Tom Fidgen's "The Unplugged Workshop" is another possible option, as is Jim Tolpin's "The New Traditional Woodworker". I intend to work mostly with hand tools. I already have "Hand Tools", by Aldren Watson. Which one would you recommend?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 03-15-2017, 10:19 PM

View WesTex's Photo Album My Photos
I think the real question here is: "In what order should I buy these books?" You know you'll end up with them all, plus others.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
post #3 of 10 Old 03-16-2017, 10:18 AM

View WesTex's Photo Album My Photos
Of the books you list, I have only Paul Sellers. It's good, well done, and informative. The others are on my list of future necessities.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

post #4 of 10 Old 03-16-2017, 10:40 AM

View woodchux's Photo Album My Photos
All the books you have listed are very good and informative, but ONLY you can determine which will be beneficial to where you are and plan to go with your woodworking projects. Consider comparing each books subjects that are covered - to what detail? Do they match your needs? You could also put those books on your "wish list" for others to give you - say for birthdays, holidays, etc. Be safe.
post #5 of 10 Old 03-16-2017, 03:51 PM

View Rodrat's Photo Album My Photos
I would personally go with Paul Sellers.

Measure 6 times, cut 3. Plane it down wrong and go buy a second board.
post #6 of 10 Old 03-16-2017, 05:56 PM
where's my table saw?