Woodworking Talk banner

Recommendation needed: Tap, to cut threads in hardwood

2K views 18 replies 10 participants last post by  cazclocker 
#1 ·
Apologies for the obviously newbie post - I'm not a wood worker, I'm primarily a machinist. My task at hand requires me to create female threads in the butt end of a poll cue-stick, so I can thread in a metal threaded insert. Required threads are to be 3/4-10. Because the threaded insert needs to be seated at the bottom of a hole (which I will drill), obviously I'll need a bottoming tap rather than a plug tap or the other types.
My question is, since I'm cutting wood instead of metal, should I purchase a 3-flute tap or a 4-flute tap? Or is there a better way to cut thread in hardwood?
Thanks in advance.

#5 ·

I often recommend a couple coats of CA glue on thin or fragile wood constructions. Just let it soak in and dry for an hour, then repeat. Now you have fiber reenforced plastic and it is much stronger than wood. Try it on scrap and see what you think.
I assume you have the male section already and that it's 3/4" x 10tpi.

#7 ·
3/4-10 is pretty coarse threads. But I would recommend using a metal threaded insert on the female side. the force of tightening the two pool cue halves together repeatedly will cause the wood threads to wear enough that you can't tighten it properly. Metal to metal is best if you have to connect/disconnect repeatedly.

#9 ·
Thanks guys. As guitarphotographer pointed out, 3/4-10 is pretty coarse - only 10 threads per linear inch. Once I have the threads cut into the end of the pool cue, I plan to apply some wood glue to the freshly cut thread and then insert the steel threaded insert and leave it there permanently. I just wondered if a 3-flute tap would work better for wood than a 4-flute tap. Catpower, you mentioned you have used whichever you had on hand... I'm guessing it doesn't matter to much. I appreciate your advice to back out more often than I would with steel, though.

Thanks guys.