Placement of bench dog holes - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 06-19-2009, 09:35 PM Thread Starter

View cossack's Photo Album My Photos
Placement of bench dog holes

I am a beginner to woodworking, and I have built a simple bench from instructions in Wood Magazine. I have installed a Shop Fox D2525 9 quick release vice on the edge of the table. The bench turned out well, but the instructions do not give detail on placing the bench dog holes. I will be using the Veritas Bench Pups which only need a straight hole.
Do I line the holes up with the outer edge of the vice? How far apart do I make the holes? Any other tips would be appreciated. Thanks to all who answer.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 06-20-2009, 01:45 AM
But No Glue...

View EnoughClamps's Photo Album My Photos
I have seen plans with the dog holes spaced every 6". I do not remember how far that vice opened. Your vice opens just over 10". I would suggest 6" to 8". If you did 12" there would be times when the piece you are trying to secure would be to long for one hole and to short for the next. At 3" apart might just be overkill.

As to how far from the edge, I am not sure.

Got any pics of the bench? Guys around here like looking at pictures...

Enough Clamps,
But No Glue...
_ Every step of any project should be considered your masterpiece if you want the finished product to reflect the quality of your work. - gregL
_ Take the time to look into the grain of the wood as it emerges. It took a lot of years for that to grow, why waste it in chips and dust? - Sonny E.
post #3 of 8 Old 06-20-2009, 10:11 AM
Wishing he had a title...

View Kudzu's Photo Album My Photos
What he said. Less than your vice opening. And the closer they are together the less you have to open and close you vise each time you clamp a part. Not a big deal it's nice not to be able to clamp it quick.